Kindling

I had wanted a Kindle for ages but (a) thought I didn’t read enough to justify it and (b) didn’t know anyone who had one so I could look before I bought. Then a couple of years ago I decided my New Year’s resolution was to read more, and I did: I managed to get through a few “real” books, including no fewer than 3 mighty tomes:…

 

.. Crimson Petal & the White, Wolf Hall, and Pillars of the Earth – which are all absolutely enormous books, not little holiday paperbacks – so I finally decide I’d deserved an e-reader. I also had a play with oen belonging to a workmate, and I was fascinated.

So I told Bri he finally had my permission to buy me one without it being a waste of money (!) and I got a Kindle Touch last June, for my birthday. Would you like to take a guess on what my first book was? Yes you guessed it, Fifty Shades of Grey.

I’m not about to write a review, as hundreds of others have already done that to death – I’ll just briefly say that I enjoyed it, and the next one, and the next one, and I started on book one again, then the second… but I’d finally had enough at that point. I was, however, enjoying the Kindle – the lightweightedness (compared to the books above, anything would have been) and the added anonymity of course!

I invested in a funky striped cover from Lente Designs – which I can highly recommend. I only wish they did HTC covers… anyway it fits nicely into more receptacles than a heavyweight would ever do – so it gets my vote.

I’ve had a few friends comment on my decision to get a Kindle, with concerns about how e-books are killing traditional bookshops and that they love the “feel” of old books too much (and, the smell?!) but I never had that sort of relationship with books – they were dusty, smelly things to me, essential and unavoidable at school and ones that I enjoyed reading would therefore be a major exception not a rule. I have no emotional attachment to books in general, but I do to ones that are part of my personal history, or in fact the history of anyone else (I’d NEVER agree to disposing of books – honestly spoken like a true hoarder)

Now I’d written a lot more here and thanks to our flaky internet it’s been chuffing lost, but I had a profound list of pros and cons which I’ll repopulate when I get the chance…

Comment

